Federal Firearms Licensees (FFL) Information
New Federal Firearms Licensees (FFL):
All new federal firearms licensees must send a copy of your FFL license with a clearly visible ATF seal along with at least one phone number for your business to:
Renewals of Federal Firearms Licensees (FFL):
All federal firearms licensees that are renewing must send a copy of your FFL license with a clearly visible ATF seal to:
Pursuant to C.R.S. 24-33.5-424, the CBI is authorized to impose a fee for performing a criminal background check pursuant to this section. Currently, that fee is set at $10.50.
This fee pertains only to CBI firearm background checks, and not the $10.00 statutory fee a licensed gun dealer may charge for private firearms transfers pursuant to C.R.S. 18-12-112.
If you have questions regarding your InstaCheck account or billing notice, please contact the CBI Billing section at 303-813-5700 option 6, Monday - Friday, excluding state holidays.
For all other InstaCheck-related questions, please contact an InstaCheck Supervisor at 303-813-5700 option 5. InstaCheck hours of operation are Sunday - Saturday, 9:00 AM. through 9:00 PM. (MST).
Overturned denial notifications sent to Federal Firearm Licensees (FFLs) by the InstaCheck Appeals section will only be delivered through the mail or if requested, by email:
Please ensure that the request includes the full FFL number, store name and a statement asking to have the reversal notifications sent via e-mail. FFLs that do not provide the requested information, will receive hard copy notifications through the mail only.
FFLs will receive these notifications when their customer has been overturned within 30 days of the original transaction.
If there are any questions, please contact the Appeals section:
(303) 813-5700, option 3
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
- What is considered valid identification?
According to the Federal Firearms Regulation Reference Guide: The identification document presented by the purchaser must have a photo of the purchaser, name, address, and date of birth, and must be issued by a governmental entity for the purpose of identification of individuals. (e.g. Drivers License) Currently, Colorado Concealed Handgun permits do not constitute a valid ID for the purposes of the firearms background check. However, a Colorado Concealed Handgun permit with a current address may be used to establish residence when the valid ID does not.
- If a buyer has a Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP), do I still process a background check for them to purchase a firearm?
Yes. A Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) does not meet all the criteria to qualify for an exemption to the FBI NICS background check. That means even if the buyer has a Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) you must process a background check in accordance with state and federal law every time they purchase a firearm. Out of state Concealed Handgun permit holders also need a background check to purchase a long gun in Colorado.