Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) Reciprocity

Updates to this page are made only when there is a change to Colorado's permit reciprocity with other states.

In accordance with Colorado law (C.R.S. 18-12-213) the State of Colorado will recognize a valid concealed carry permit issued by another state only if all of the following criteria are met:

  • The issuing state recognizes/honors a Colorado permit (CHP).
  • The permit holder is a resident of the issuing state.
  • The permit holder is in possession of a matching state issued driver’s license or a State ID showing that they are a resident of that state.
  • The permit holder is 21 years of age or older.
  • The permit holder is in possession of a valid permit.
  • The State of Colorado does not recognize the validity of a concealed carry permit issued by any state, to a nonresident of that state (see C.R.S 18-12-213, as amended in 2007). Specifically, state law requires the state of residency of the person and the state of issue of a permit to match as proven by a valid driver’s license or identification card issued by that same state.

In addition to out of state visitors from reciprocal states, this state law also applies to Colorado residents. A Colorado resident may only carry concealed in the state using a Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP). A Colorado resident cannot legally carry concealed in-state using a nonresident permit issued by any other state.

When traveling with a Colorado permit, it is advisable to contact the state you are visiting to confirm reciprocity and to review that state's firearms laws.

Colorado state law passes the authority to grant a reciprocal status to the other states, once our Colorado permit is honored, reciprocity may be established.

The following information is also available to Colorado law enforcement through the CCIC system.


Concealed carry reciprocity has been established with the following states:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

Concealed carry reciprocity
has not been established with the following states:

California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Vermont and Washington.