Court Order Sealing of Arrests

Sending Court Orders to Seal to the CBI


  • Email:
  • Fax:  303-239-4405 Attn:  Seals
  • Mailing Address:
    • Biometric Identification and Records Unit
      Colorado Bureau of Investigation
      690 Kipling St., Ste. 4000
      Lakewood, CO 80215
  • In Person:  
    • 690 Kipling St., Ste. 
      Lakewood, CO 80215

Payment: As of May 25, 2013, to seal an arrest record you must submit a fee of $20.00 (reduced from $27.98) to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation for processing. The CBI processing fee per court order is a separate fee and is not included in the court fees. Please make exact payment to the CBI, over/under payments could delay the process of sealing the arrest. Visit Fees and forms for payment information.

Colorado State Statues and Links


A person may petition the court to seal his/her own records by filing a petition with the District/County/Muni Court where the arrest and/or criminal records are filed. Please review the Colorado State Statute (C.R.S.) 24-72-703 to see the qualification for sealing a record.

For additional information regarding obtaining a court order for the purpose of sealing a Colorado Criminal History Record, please contact the court in which the criminal records were filed or click on the link for records packet and instructions at Colorado Courts.

These are the current sealing statutes:

1. C.R.S. 24-72-704 Sealing of arrest records when no charges are filed.

2. C.R.S. 24-72-705 Sealing criminal justice records other than convictions - simplified process.

3. C.R.S. 24-72-706 Sealing of criminal conviction records.

4. C.R.S. 24-72-707 Sealing of criminal conviction records information for offenses committed by victims of human trafficking.

5. C.R.S. 24-72-708 Sealing of criminal conviction records information for municipal offenses for convictions.

6. C.R.S. 24-72-709 Sealing of criminal conviction records information for multiple conviction records.

7. C.R.S. 24-72-710 Sealing of criminal conviction records information for offenses that receive a full and unconditional pardon.

You can access these through the Colorado General Assembly's website. Once in LexisNexis, you can search each statute for more information