The Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) is a criminal justice agency that maintains both public records and criminal justice records. Requests will be evaluated and responded to according to the appropriate applicable portions of either C.R.S. 24-72-201 et. seq. or C.R.S. 24-72-301 et. seq.
The CBI can only provide records that pertain to the CBI, not the entire state of Colorado. A person must request records directly from the government agency or the custodian of the records in which the information pertains to.
How to Submit a CORA Request:
All requests must be submitted in writing and include:
- Requestor's name
- Date requested
- Email Address
- Phone number
- Mailing Address
- Company name (if applicable)
- A detailed description of the specific information being requested. Please be as detailed as possible.
- Include a signed pecuniary gain form
To request public records under the Colorado Open Records Act (CORA), please submit your request in writing.
Completed requests can be submitted electronically to Natalie.Olson@state.co.us or via mail to the following address:
Colorado Bureau of Investigation
Attn: CORA Manager
690 Kipling St., Suite 3000
Lakewood CO 80215
As part of CORA provisions, the first hour of time associated with research and retrieval of public records will be provided at no cost. CBI will charge a maximum of $0.25 per page for copies of records, but will work to forward records electronically whenever possible. The maximum hourly rate for research and retrieval of public records is $30, per provisions of the Colorado Open Records Act (CORA) (as amended by the General Assembly in 2014 and made effective April 3, 2015).
Frequently Requested Items that do not fall under CORA or CCJRA and How to Obtain them:
Criminal History of a Person – AKA “RAP Sheet”:
An individual's criminal history arrest record is available for purchase. The standard fee for a Colorado criminal history check is $4.00. To download someone's Colorado criminal history, please go to the following website: cbirecordscheck.com. On the home page, please choose the Individual button, check the box agreeing to the Terms and Conditions, and enter the required information.
Court Information on a Specific Case or Person:
Public criminal court records are maintained by the appropriate court; therefore, you are directed to the Colorado Courts record search at the following link for information pertaining to court records that may be available for inspection/release: cocourts.com/cocourts
Crime Statistic’s Information:
The Colorado Crime Stats website is a compilation of crime statistics submitted to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) by Colorado law enforcement agencies through the national Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program. Per Colorado Revised Statute 24-33.5-412.(5), each Colorado law enforcement agency is required to submit their crime, arrest, stolen and recovered property data to the CBI. The data published in the Incident-Based pages is produced according to the FBI UCR NIBRS reporting and counting guidelines. Please follow the link below access these databases and statistics: cbi.colorado.gov/sections/crime-information-management-unit/uniform-crime-reporting-ucr-and-colorado-crime
Is there a cost to obtain records?
The CBI follows the CORA policy adopted by the Colorado Department of Public Safety that may be found at colorado.gov/pacific/publicsafety/colorado-open-records-request. The CORA policy allows that the first hour of staff time to respond to a request be free to the requester and that each subsequent hour will be assessed a $30.00 per hour fee for staff time spent collecting, reviewing, and redacting reports, as applicable.
For copying costs (as necessary if electronic versions are not available, or if requested), CBI adheres to the fee schedule as defined in C.R.S.§ 24-72-205(5)(a). Copies will be $0.25 per page.
How long does it take to get a response to my request?
You will receive an initial response within three business days. The CBI’s three working‐day response time begins the first working day following receipt of the request. A request received after 3 p.m. or any day the agency is officially closed will be considered received as of the following working day.