### COLORADO

# Submission of Sexual Assault Kits to the CBI Forensic Services

CRS 24-33.5-113

(aka HB13-1020)







The Colorado legislature passed CRS 24-33.5-113 (commonly referred to as HB13-1020) in 2013.

This law requires submission of nearly all sexual assault evidence kits to an accredited forensic laboratory.

The law further required the Colorado Department of Public Safety to put together the rules committee to determine the specific rules to be used in the law.



The rules as determined by that committee and accepted according to Colorado rulemaking policy can be viewed at the Colorado Secretary of State's website at the following link:

<u>8 CCR 1507-29</u>



The law requires a sexual assault evidence kit to be submitted to a forensic lab within 21 days of receipt from a medical facility. The rules require all kits be submitted unless:

1) the victim does not consent to submission of the kit. [See consent form also posted on the CBI-FS website.]

2) the law enforcement agency is able to provide corroborated evidence of a false report within the 21 days before the required submission.

All other kits must be submitted to an accredited forensic laboratory.

The rules committee made these rules effective March 1, 2014.



The law further requires all several assault

The law further requires all sexual assault exams in which kits are collected to use the same consent form and consent to either a Law Enforcement Report or a Medical Report. The rules committee developed a form that documents either of these consents required in the state of Colorado. This consent form has been updated most recently in March of 2023.

The consent form is already included in the Colorado Victim kit sold by SIRCHIE (CBIFS100).



The law requires the forensic laboratories accepting these sexual assault kits to do the analysis and upload

any qualifying DNA profiles into CODIS as a priority.

To follow this intent of the law the CBI-FS requests our law enforcement agencies make every effort to obtain and submit all appropriate buccal swabs when the kit is submitted. The kit will be accepted, however, if those buccals cannot be obtained. Please note reasons buccals could not be obtained in the submission cover letter.



Please note that certain kits that are collected as Anonymous Kits under SB 128 (revisions in C.R.S 12-36-135) offer victims another reporting option as an anonymous report.

These kits CANNOT be tested at an accredited forensic lab, unless the victim converts their report to a medical or law enforcement report.



# Sexual Assault Kit Testing Legislation HB21-1143

### Signed into law on May 27, 2021 Establishes rights afforded to victims \*upon request\*:

To be notified that the kit was submitted to an accredited lab for testing To be notified when the law enforcement agency has received the results of the laboratory testing

To be informed of whether a DNA sample was obtained and whether or not there are matches to profiles in state or federal databases

To be informed at least 60 days prior to destruction of kit

To file an objection to the destruction of the kit

To be informed of any change in status of the case (including closure or reopening) To receive a physical document identifying the rights under the law after the exam has been completed



# Sexual Assault Kit Testing Legislation HB21-1143

• Licensee or nurse who performs the medical forensic examination SHALL inform the victim:

Contact information for the nearest sexual assault victim's advocate if the victim makes a law enforcement report

Of contact information for the nearest community-based victim advocate if the victim makes a medical or anonymous report

That any forensic medical evidence collected must be maintained until after the assailant may no longer be prosecuted for the crime and that the victim MUST be notified prior to the destruction of evidence

Did NOT provide funding for a kit tracking system

Full text: https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/2021a\_1 143\_signed.pdf



Sexual Assault Kit Poster - Quick Reference Guide for Law Enforcement agencies

updated May 2023

Please reach out if you would like a poster size print of this guide

available on CBI Forensic Services website as well

#### Colorado Sexual Assault Evidence Collection Kit Quick Reference Guide

PICK UP SEXUAL ASSAULT EVIDENCE COLLECTION KITS WITHIN 7 DAYS

<section-header><section-header><section-header><section-header><section-header><section-header><section-header><section-header><form><form><form><form><form>

MUST be submitted to the laboratory within 21 days if the victim initialed Option 1 (A) in the Evidence Consent section regardless of the selection in the Reporting Decision Consent section. If the victim was under 18 or over 69 at the time of the assault, the kit must be submitted regardless of consent.

STORAGE RECOMMENDATIONS		
Type of Evidence	Storage Condition	How
Blood Tube	Refrigerated	:
Urine Cup	Refrigerated	Wha
Sexual Assault Kits	Room temperature (see retention guideline on consent form)	Wha
Condoms	If tied: frozen  If untied and dry: room temperature  If untied and cannot be dried: frozen	
Tampons	Dry and store at room temperature  If cannot be dried: frozen	
Buccal Swabs	Room temperature	:
Clothing/Bedding	Room temperature	Su

CANNOT be submitted to the laboratory UNLESS the victim updates their reporting option. If they do so, provide the new consent form at the time of submission to the Laboratory (see left.)

Anonymous Report

COLORADO SEXUAL ASSAULT ANONYMOUS CONSENT and INFORMATION FORM

see C.R.S. 12-240-139

ANONYMOUS Reporting

Patients Only

**O** 

COLORADO

#### FAQs v do I package the SANE kit?

Do not package in additional layers of packaging Keep separate from other evidence

- hat should I send to the CBI Laboratory for testing?
- Toxicology samples (if applicable)
- Buccal swab standards for comparison and elimination
- Contact the laboratory prior to submitting additional items (e.g. bedding, clothing, condoms)
- What DNA reference samples are needed for testing? • Victim buccal swabs - often in the SANE kit
  - Suspect(s) buccal swabs for comparison and statistics
    Consensual partner's buccal swabs for elimination purpose

Submit buccal swals from suspect(s) and consensual partner(s) as soon as possible, but do not delay submission of sexual assault kits.



# Sexual Assault Kit Tracking

### • May 2023 - House Bill 2023-1199

Forensic Medical Evidence Process Improvements Bill <a href="https://leg.colorado.gov/bills/hb23-1199">https://leg.colorado.gov/bills/hb23-1199</a>

"The act requires CDPS to develop and maintain a statewide system for victim's of alleged sexual assault to monitor the status of the sexual assault evidence collection kit"

Bill states the implementation - by June 30, 2025

The tracking of kits and payment of the services to collect a Forensic Medical Exam with involve all medical care facilities treating victims of sexual assault, Law Enforcement Agencies, Forensic Laboratories, District Attorney Offices and the Court system.

Additional informational will be available in the coming months



## If you still have questions regarding submission of sexual assault kits and the law please contact:

### Carrie Davis Laboratory Manager, Biological Sciences (303)-463-7021 Carrie.davis@state.co.us

or

Stefanie Trahey Laboratory Director, CBI Forensic Services Pueblo (719)-647-5970 <u>stefanie.trahey@state.co.us</u>

