APPEAL OF FIREARM DENIAL

o NAME:
(Print your complete first, middle and last name)

e DATE OF BIRTH: Social Security Number:
(Month, day, year)

e Phone Number (Required)

e Mailing Address (Required)

e E-mail (provide if you would like to receive a quicker response)

CBI Transaction Number:

NICS Transaction Number:

Date of Transaction:
(Month, day, year)

| have been denied the purchase of a hand gun or long gun in the State of Colorado based on a check by my
gun dealer through the Colorado InstaCheck System. | hereby appeal that denial and request a review of the
record(s) used by CBI in determining that | should be denied the purchase. | understand that | may be
required to provide CBI a full set of inked fingerprints of myself for the purpose of comparing them with
fingerprints associated with the record(s) used in the denial. I also understand that | only have 30 days to
appeal the denial after it is issued and that CBI is not required to assist me until such time as | formally
appeal the denial. | further understand that failure to complete this form or to complete it legibly could
result in rejection of the form.

(Signature of Requester) (Date)

See instructions on reverse side.



Instructions for completing the APPEAL OF DENIAL form

The following procedure should be carefully followed to challenge a denied firearms transfer background
check:

1. If your transaction was denied, obtain your CBI transaction number and NICS number from your FFL
(dealer). Legibly print the CBI Transaction and NICS number in the appropriate place on this form. Legibly
print the other required information on the form. Include your complete phone number and current mailing
address (mandatory). Make a copy of the form and retain it for your file or future use.

2. You may send the form by facsimile (FAX) to (303)813-5758 or e-mail it to:
cdps_cbi_instacheck_appeals@state.co.us
or you may mail the form to:

CBI InstaCheck Unit
690 Kipling St, Ste 3000
Denver, CO 80215

It should be sent promptly so as to allow CBl ample time to contact the necessary law enforcement agencies
and/or clerk’s offices and review any documentation they may provide. Do not expect to hand carry your
appeal to the CBI office in order to obtain same day service.

If more than 30 days’ elapse after the initial denial of transfer and you have not appealed, your appeal
window will close and you will need to begin again with a new attempt to purchase, obtain denial and
appeal.

3. Upon receipt of your appeal form, CBI will review the documentation used to make the denial. CBI will
contact the arresting agency and request a final disposition of any “open” charges showing on your criminal
history record. CBI may also contact the clerk of court and the State bureau of investigation’s records keeping
unit for final disposition information if it is unavailable from the arresting agency. If CBI is able to obtain a
final disposition or other required information, you will be notified by mail/email of any change of status for
your transaction.



